Adelaide Festival // 2 - 18 March 2012

This is an archived site. Click here to return to current site.

Left Quote
Right Quote

The Ham Funeral

By Patrick White

Australia

“Surreal, incisive, and utterly hilarious.”

Daily Telegraph

A young poet moves into a squalid rooming house run by Mr and Mrs Lusty, a bloated, gluttonous pair. When her husband dies abruptly, Mrs Lusty announces a grand funeral featuring a lavish feast, “an ‘am funeral”, in his honour.

Driven by her incontinent appetite, she attempts to seduce the young poet, with comically tragic consequences.

Part vaudeville, part lyric poem, and part gothic drama, The Ham Funeral now enjoys legendary status as one of the most intriguingly original plays in Australian theatre history.

 

Download the pre-show audio introduction for The Ham Funeral.

 

PAUL GRABOWSKY INTRODUCES THE HAM FUNERAL



WHERE

Odeon Theatre

WHEN

Previews
Sat 25 Feb 8pm
Mon 27 Feb – Wed 29 Feb 6.30pm
SEASON
Thu 1 Mar – Sat 3 Mar
Thu 8 Mar – Sat 10 Mar &
Thu 15 Mar – Sat 17 Mar 8pm
Sat 3 Mar & Sat 10 Mar 2pm
Tue 6 Mar – Wed 7 Mar 6.30pm
Tue 13 Mar – Wed 14 Mar 6.30pm
Sun 11 Mar & Sun 18 Mar 3pm
Wed 14 Mar 11am
Q&A
Tue 6 Mar 5.30pm
Wed 14 Mar 11am

DURATION

120 minutes (including interval)

TICKETS

Previews
Adult $49, Friends $41
Concession $42, Under 30s $29
Primary/secondary $25
Season
Adult $59, Friends $50
Concession $52, under 30s $29
Primary/secondary $25

PLANNER

ADD THIS EVENT TO MY PLANNER

Wheelchair Access Audio Description Open caption

Wheelchair access
Audio description (Tues 6 Mar 6.30pm & Sat 10 Mar 2pm)
Open captioning (Wed 14 Mar)

MAP

Odeon Theatre

View Larger Map

credits

Director: Adam Cook
Designer: Ailsa Paterson
Lighting designer: Gavan Swift
Composer: Stuart Day
Cast: Luke Clayson — Lizzy Falkland — Jonathan Mill —
Amanda Muggleton — Dennis Olsen — Jacqy Phillips — Geoff Revel

Presented by State Theatre Company of South Australia and Adelaide Festival


IMAGE CREDITS
Image: Voice
View Image

You may also enjoy...

Legendary film and stage actor, Jonathan Pryce, shines in one of the twentieth century’s most important and compelling plays.

More...

The Caretaker

Legendary European director, Krzysztof Warlikowski, puts a controversial 21st century spin on Tennessee Williams’ much-loved American masterpiece.

Krzysztof

More...

A Streetcar

Hungarian director Kornél Mundruczó fashions human trafficking, pornography and sects into explosive and challenging extreme theatre.

More...

Hard To Be A God

© 2011 Adelaide festival corporation

Web design by Image & Substance // Development by Ruciak // Art direction by Mash