Enews Signup

Adelaide Writers' Week



Pioneer Women`s Memorial Garden


Sat 28 Feb–Thu 5 Mar

Most sessions 60 minutes



Director Laura Kroetsch

Full program revealed January 2015

Join in on twitter @adelwritersweek // #AdlWW

As we celebrate the 30th Adelaide Festival, it is a great privilege to be presenting the 2015 Adelaide Writers’ Week, also celebrating its 30th milestone event. Again this year we host some of contemporary literature’s great writers and thinkers in the glorious setting that is the Pioneer Women’s Memorial Garden. Together we gather under the trees to welcome poets, novelists, historians, journalists, geographers, biographers, memoirists, more than one bad feminist, a social worker from Montana and a man who was raised as a bird. We’ll be talking about money, mysteries and troubled marriages; we will look back into history and forward into what seems an uncertain future. Travel with us from a tiny apartment in India to the castles of Great Britain, via Antarctica and the Australian bush. We welcome you on the journey that is Adelaide Writers’ Week, and look forward to sharing some of the world’s most inspiring stories.

Director / Laura Kroetsch

Featured writers

Dan Barber US Jonas T. Bengtsson DEN Alastair Bonnett UK James Boyce AUS James Bradley AUS Helen Castor UK Leila Yusaf Chung AUS Nicholas Clements AUS Matthew Condon AUS John Darnielle US Kate de Goldi NZ Ceridwen Dovey AUS Michel Faber UK Chris Flynn AUS Esther Freud UK Helen Garner AUS Roxane Gay US Jane Gleeson-White AUS Andy Griffiths AUS Libby Hathorn AUS Smith Henderson US Mark Henshaw AUS Barry Hill AUS Terrence Holt US Erik Jensen AUS Anne Kennedy NZ Cate Kennedy AUS Porochista Khakpour IRN/US Sofie Laguna AUS John Lanchester UK Kate Llewellyn AUS Antony Loewenstein AUS Joan London AUS Tim Low AUS Hugh Mackay AUS Geoffrey McGeachin AUS Angela Meyer AUS Jenny Offill US Heather O’Neill CAN Favel Parrett AUS Jerry Pinto IND Ted Prior AUS Tom Rachman CAN Joanna Rakoff US Hannie Rayson AUS Miranda Richmond Mouillot US/FRA Graeme Simsion AUS Tom Rob Smith UK Jared Thomas AUS Jenny Uglow UK Ellen van Neerven AUS Samuel Wagan Watson AUS Don Watson AUS Ian Wedde NZ Damien Wilkins NZ Rohan Wilson AUS


This project has been assisted by the Commonwealth Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body. Special thanks: Canada Council for the Arts, Danish Arts Foundation, Mud Literary Club Inc., New Zealand Book Council, NORLA – Norwegian Literature Abroad, US Consulate, Trees for Life

Australia Council Logo

PHOTOS Shane Reid


Add to Planner