Adelaide Festival 28 February - 16 March 2014

Tectonics Adelaide

Curated and conducted by Ilan Volkov

Featuring the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Australian Premiere / Exclusive to Adelaide

Over two marathon days, Tectonics Adelaide showcases revolutionary composers and legendary musicians in a program curated and conducted by Ilan Volkov with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. Premiering new works by Australians Elena Kats-Chernin, Jon Rose, Matthew Shlomowitz and James Rushford; Italian composer Giuliano d’Angiolini and Romanian Iancu Dumitrescu, Tectonics also includes the pioneering works of Iannis Xenakis, Giacinto Scelsi, David Ahern and Alvin Lucier. In an Australian first, Stephen O’Malley, Oren Ambarchi and Attila Csihar stage the dynamic forces of Gravetemple alongside Ikue Mori, Aki Takahashi, Takehisa Kosugi, Jon Rose, Crys Cole, Robbie Avenaim, Marco Fusinato, Hammers Lake, Erkki Veltheim, Joel Stern, Soundstream and Speak Percussion.

Read article: Tectonics: radically redefining the orchestra

Read Ilan Volkov’s Concert Notes

Read Ilan Volkov’s Biography

Program One

– full details
Sun 9 Mar 2.30pm – 7pm,
Grainger Studio

Program Two

– full details
Mon 10 Mar, 2.30pm – 11pm
Queen’s Theatre
Presented by Adelaide Festival in partnership with Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

adelaide_symphony_orchestra tectonics

Add to my planner


Sun 9 Mar 2.30pm
Mon 10 Mar 2.30pm

(Sun) 4 hours 30 minutes (Mon) 7 hours 30 minutes


Two days
Adult $79, Friends $67
Concession $67
Fringe Benefits $45

One day
Adult $49, Friends $42
Concession $42
Fringe Benefits $30

For Fringe Benefits bookings, please call BASS on 131 246.


Program Two contains smoke and haze effects, and extreme sound levels.

Access Details

Wheelchair Access


(Program One - Grainger Studio)
Soloists: Jon Rose, Oren Ambarchi
with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Ilan Volkov
Piano solo: Aki Takahashi
Piano quartet: Soundstream
Woodwind duet: Jim Denley with Byron Scullin

(Program Two - Queens Theatre)
Oren Ambarchi, Robbie Avenaim, Crys Cole, Attila Cshar, Marco Fusinato, Takehisa Kosugi, Gravetemple, Hammers Lake (Carolyn Connors and Judith Hamann with Vanessa Tomlinson), Ikue Mori, Stephen O'Malley, Joel Stern, Erkki Veltheim, Soundstream (Harley Gray, Amanda Grigg, Suzanne Handel, Graeme Jennings, Anna McMichael and Gabriella Smart), Speak Percussion (Jamie Adam, Louise Devenish, Matthias Schack-Arnott, Leah Scholes and Eugene Ughetti).

You may also enjoy