Skip to main content

Love Sonnet: After the Season of Thunder & Hail pictures

Love Sonnet: After the Season of Thunder & Hail description

A dusk concert to die for: the amazing Stephanie McCallum plays gloriously still, emotionally distilled, pieces by Sculthorpe, and all six of Satie’s famous, other-worldly, Gnossiennes. Between them, the much-loved masterwork that Messiaen wrote in a concentration camp will bear you aloft on angels’ wings.


John Gaden, poetry
Stephanie McCallum, piano
Jason Noble, clarinet
James Wannan, violin
Blair Harris, cello
Jack Symonds, piano


Louise Labé (1522-1566): Sonnet XVI (1555)

Peter Sculthorpe (1929-2014): Night Pieces (1971)

Peter Sculthorpe: Callabonna (1963)

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992): Quartet for the End of Time (1940)

Erik Satie (1866-1925): Gnossiennes I-VI (1889-97)


Event additional information