Skip to main content

The Return pictures

The Return description

A gorgeous afternoon of rich string textures from Sutherland, Sculthorpe (his deeply moving Irkanda IV) and Glanville-Hicks, surrounding two ‘greatest hits’: Elena Kats-Chernin’s winsome Wild Swans Suite and Grainger’s outwardly breezy (but fiendishly difficult) riff on The Harmonious Blacksmith, Handel in the Strand. All delivered by definitive performers.


Jack Symonds, conductor
Dale Barltrop, leader & violin
James Wannan, viola
Suzanne Pederson, soprano
Geoffrey Collins, flutes
Jason Noble, clarinets
Claire Edwardes, percussion
John Gaden, poetry
Stephanie McCallum, piano
Janet Anderson, violin
Helen Ayres, violin
Lachlan Bramble, violin
Blair Harris, cello
Jonathon Coco, double bass
Australian String Quartet
Flinders Quartet



Anna Akhmatova (1889-1966): The Return (1944)

Margaret Sutherland (1897-1984): Concerto for Strings (1961)

Peter Sculthorpe (1929-2014): Irkanda IV (1961)

Peter Sculthorpe: Sonata for Strings (1983)

Elena Kats-Chernin (b. 1957): In Tension (1982)

Elena Kats-Chernin: Wild Swans: Concert suite (2005, arr. 2020) (world premiere)

Peggy Glanville-Hicks (1912-1990): Concerto Romantico (1956)

Percy Grainger: Harvest Hymn (1905-32)

Percy Grainger: Handel in the Strand (1911)                                                                                        


Event additional information