Skip to main content

The Sleepout pictures

The Sleepout description

Forsake your metaphorical camp-beds for another compare-and-contrast of two contemporaneous works. It’s 1937. Old Alfred’s final quartet and youngish Margaret’s first, each lift up their eyes to European hills: the former to his beloved Dvořák’s gentle slopes, the latter to Bartok’s rockier outcrops. Twenty years later a girl was born in far off Tashkent, and by 2015 her radiant Piano Quintet, while glancing everywhere from the baroque to the Charleston, displays a musical gaze entirely her own.


Jacob Abela, piano
Flinders Quartet
John Gaden, poetry


Les Murray (1938-2019): The Sleepout (1987)

Margaret Sutherland (1897-1984): String Quartet No. 1 (1938)   

Alfred Hill (1869-1960): String Quartet No. 17 in C major (1938)

Brief interval

Elena Kats-Chernin (b. 1957): Piano Quintet 'The Offering' (2015)


Event additional information