Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content

Goldner String Quartet: The 2010s pictures

Event actions

Goldner String Quartet: The 2010s description

In their 30th and final season, the celebrated Goldner String Quartet will present music from the first three decades of this century, updating their massive endeavour at the 2000 Adelaide Festival when they performed ten concerts of music from the ten decades of the 20th century.

In this second of their three concerts, the focus is on works from the second decade of this century. This program explores how music can engage with the contemporary world as a medium for conveying important messages about nature and political issues. Pieces from Australian composers Ella Macens, Peter Sculthorpe, Paul Stanhope and Matthew Hindson are brought together with a wonderful work on the theme of nature from New Zealand composer Gareth Farr.  

A group of the highest international class… quartet-playing of the rarest quality.

The Guardian


Gareth Farr Te Kōanga
Ella Macens Resting with Angels
Peter Sculthorpe "A land singing" and "Postlude" from Quartet No.18
Paul Stanhope "Dirrari Lament" from Quartet No.3 From the Kimberley 
Matthew Hindson Quartet No. 5 Celebration 


This concert is part of the Daylight Express series. Goldner String Quartet will also present another concert at Elder Hall and a concert at Adelaide Town Hall.

Event additional information